©2019 by Melbourne University School of Languages and Linguistics, The Faculty of Arts. 

影片

Life is a Bitch

Como é Cruel Viver Assim

巴西 107 分钟  |  2018  |  导演:Julia Rezende

巴西导演朱莉娅·雷森德的最新电影是一部引人入胜的黑色喜剧故事,讲述了普通人被推向极端的故事。在巴西,日子难熬,生活不易——尤其是当你在计划一场婚礼的时候。因为觉得做任何事情都无法让他们的生活有意义,所以有四个伙伴想出了一个荒谬的计划来改变他们的生活环境::绑架一个百万富翁。这些业余绑架者真的会得逞吗?

Thursday 17th October 18:45 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

The Gazelle’s Dance

El Baile De La Gacela

哥斯达黎加 91 分钟  |  2018  |  导演: Ivan Porras

前足球明星尤金妮奥因其在球场上的速度和敏捷度曾被称为“瞪羚”,但由于未能夺得冠军,他在年轻时就退役了。现年72岁的他住在一家养老院,他决定参加一场老年人舞蹈比赛,以再次成为明星。随着梅伦格和波列罗的节奏,导演伊万·波拉斯·梅伦德斯的处女作呈现出一幅细腻动人的老年画像。

Friday 18th October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353 

The Path of the Shadows

El Camino De Las Sombras

萨尔瓦多 | 58 分钟  | 2018  | 导演: Baltazar Lopez

影片讲述了,在1980年代萨尔瓦多内战期间,圣萨尔瓦多大学教授卡洛斯·毛里西奥被他自己的政府绑架、迫害并遭受酷刑。这部引人入胜的电影将毛里西奥的证词与档案镜头相结合,再现了该国专制政府的领导下的暴力镇压,一场对任何涉嫌支持其左倾对手的人进行的血腥镇压。

Monday 21st October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Glyn Davis (MSD) B120

The Heiresses

Las Herederas

巴拉圭 97分钟 | 2018 | 导演: Marcelo Martiness

Chela和Chiquita是两名中年妇女,她们的生活因混乱而导致Chiquita因欺诈而​​被监禁 - 这使她们在30多年来第一次分开。发现她的特权存在迅速恶化,切拉被迫做出作为自己作为司机的新生活。这部屡获殊荣的剧集通过危机中女性的磨难,对富人的生活进行了引人注目的审视。

Saturday 19th October 16:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Bad Lucky Goat

El Día De La Cabra

哥伦比亚 76 分钟  |  2017  |  导演: Samir Oliveros

两兄妹用他们爸爸的车意外地撞死一只山羊后,草草的处理一下便去迎接将要住在他们的家庭小旅馆的游客。一个发生在屠夫,做拉斯特法里教鼓的人,典当铺还有巫医之间的24小时的探险故事就此展开。本片是导演Samir Oliveros通过在Kickstarter网站募集拍摄的第一部电影,讲述了哥伦比亚加勒比海的独特风景。

Saturday 19th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Grace & Splendour

Donaire Y Esplendor

巴拿马 96分钟 | 2017 | 导演: ArturoMontenegr

 这部令人高兴的不敬的浪漫喜剧讲述了罗密欧与朱丽叶的故事,讲述了一对年轻夫妇在机场意外遭遇后无可救药地坠入爱河的故事。但他们很快发现,他们各自的家庭多年来一直卷入激烈的竞争 - 自从几十年前他们的母亲在巴拿马著名的狂欢节庆祝活动中相互竞争。而现在狂欢节的集体疯狂又来了......

Tuesday 22nd October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Glyn Davis (MSD) B121

Broken Panties

Calzones Rotos

智利 101 分钟 |  2017  |  导演: Arnaldo Valsecchi

1950年,女族长玛蒂尔德即将去世,这迫使她的整个家庭——包括她的四个成年女儿——在智利农村的庄园团聚。临终前,玛蒂尔德向村里的牧师坦白,她在40年前杀死了丈夫,并把他埋在了车库里。这一发现震惊了在场的每一个人,并引发了一系列事件。在这部黑色喜剧中揭示了更多埋藏已久的秘密(和尸体)。

Sunday 27th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Mara’akame’s Dream

El Sueño Del Mara’akame

墨西哥90分钟 | 2016 | 导演: Federico Cecchett

Nieri是一位年轻的Huichol印第安人,夹在他的传统文化和年轻的野心之间。他梦想和他的摇滚乐队一起逃离墨西哥城,但是他的父亲 - 一个Huichol萨满,或者是Mara'akame--希望训练他进行精神治疗的艺术。这是一部关于古代传统在现代生活中的作用的引人入胜的故事,描绘了墨西哥的令人回味的画像,并提供了对Huichol神奇世界的罕见一瞥。

Sunday 20th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Quijotes Negros 

厄瓜多尔 80 分子  |  2016  |  导演: Sandino Burbano

在这部独特的《堂吉诃德》中,幻想和现实激烈碰撞,这部小说通过喜剧的镜头,探索了拉丁美洲的种族和社会边缘化。在现在的厄瓜多尔,堂吉诃德开始帮助他忠诚的伙伴,桑丘·潘扎,找到一个妻子。他们的不幸遭遇却导致他们无意中绑架了西班牙女王和公主,导致来自两个截然不同世界的人的见面。

Thursday 24th October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 556

Old Friends

Viejos Amigos

秘鲁 93分钟 | 2014 | 导演: Fernando Villará

Balo,Ricardo,Domingo和Kike从他们出生那天起就是朋友 - 八十年前在秘鲁的El Callao社区。只要他们能够记住他们最喜欢的足球队在联赛中打球,他们一直在等待,但是当Kike在比赛前夕去世时,命运给人一种残酷的打击。在他的葬礼重聚,剩下的三个朋友决定偷走Kike的骨灰并带他们去比赛最后一次欢呼。

Saturday 26th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Fallen Gods

Los Dioses Rotos

古巴 93 mins  |  2008  |  Dir: Ernesto Daranas

劳拉是一名大学教授,负责研究古巴传奇皮条客亚里尼·阿尔贝托·庞塞·德莱昂(Yarini y Alberto Ponce de Leon)。在深入地研究这座城市的地下世界的过程中,劳拉发现了如今的哈瓦那与过去有着惊人的相似之处。随着调查的深入,她发现自己陷入了现代哈瓦那皮条客之间的地盘争夺战。

Friday 25th October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

The Pope’s Toilet

El Baño Del Papa

乌拉圭 98分钟 | 2007 | 导演: César Charlon

1988年,乌拉圭边境小镇Melo兴奋地等待教皇约翰保罗二世访问南美洲。一句话开始传播,成千上万的人可以朝圣看到神圣的领袖,而且贫困的梅洛公民为前所未有的旅游热潮做准备。但是小偷走者Beto相信他已经制定了最好的计划:建造一个公共厕所,然后向朝圣者收费。

Saturday 26th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Where All Roads End

Donde Acaban Los Caminos

危地马拉 85 分钟  |  2004  |  导演: Carlos Garcia Agraz

20世纪初,理想主义的医生萨莫拉来到危地马拉的一个乡村,希望能根除当地兹图伊尔人的疾病。萨莫拉意外地爱上了一个名叫玛丽亚的年轻土著女孩,但他们的关系能克服巨大的文化差异和来自危地马拉政府的威胁吗?

Sunday 20th October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Man Facing Southeast

Hombre Mirando al Sudeste

阿根廷 105分钟 | 1986 | 导演: Eliseo Subiel

 Julio Denis博士对在他工作的阿根廷精神病医院无法解释的神秘新病人的到来感到困惑。新人告诉胡里奥他是一个外星人,被派往地球观察
人类的行为。医院管理员敦促他像对待任何其他病人一样对待他,Julio很快就开始怀疑他是否能更好地判断他的新患者是否确实来自另一个星球。

Wednesday 23rd October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Glyn Davis (MSD) B121

Reservations

No upcoming events at the moment

Films

Life is a Bitch

Como é Cruel Viver Assim

Brazil | 107 mins | 2018 | Dir: Julia Rezende

The latest film from Brazilian director Julia Rezende is a riveting and darkly comic tale of ordinary people pushed to extremes. In Rio de Janiero, times are tough and life is expensive – especially when you’re planning a wedding. Unable to do anything to make sense of their lives, four friends come up with an absurd scheme to turn their lives around: kidnap a millionaire. Will these amateurs abductors actually pull their plan off?

Thursday 17th October 18:45 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

The Gazelle’s Dance

El Baile De La Gacela

Costa Rica  91 mins | 2018 | Dir: Ivan Porras

Former soccer star Eugenio used to be known as ‘The Gazelle’ for his speed and dexterity on the field, but he retired young after being unable to score a trophy. Now 72 years old and living in a retirement home, he decides to take another shot at stardom by entering a dance competition for the elderly. Moving to the rhythms of merengue and bolero, Ivan Porras Meléndez’s feature debut is a nuanced and touching portrait of old age.

Friday 18th October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353 

The Path of the Shadows

El Camino De Las Sombras

El Salvador | 58 mins | 2018 | Dir: Baltazar Lopez

In the midst of El Salvador’s civil war in the 1980s, University of San Salvador Professor Carlos Mauricio was abducted, persecuted and tortured by his own government. This riveting film depicts the ordeal by combining real-life testimony from Mauricio with archival footage and dramatic re-enactments of the bloody crackdown led by the country’s repressive government regime against anyone suspected of supporting their left-leaning opponents.

Monday 21st October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Glyn Davis (MSD) B120

The Heiresses

Las Herederas

Paraguay | 97 mins | 2018 | Dir: Marcelo Martinessi

Chela and Chiquita are two middle-aged women whose lives are thrown into disarray when mounting debt results in Chiquita being imprisoned for fraud – forcing them apart for the first time in over 30 years. Finding her privileged existence rapidly deteriorating, Chela is forced to make a new life for herself as a chauffeur. This award-winning drama takes a compelling look into the lives of the wealthy, through the tribulations of a woman in crisis.

Saturday 19th October 16:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Bad Lucky Goat

El Día De La Cabra

Colombia | 76 mins | 2017 | Dir: Samir Oliveros

After accidentally killing a bearded goat with their father’s truck, two siblings set out to have it repaired in time to pick up the tourists that will be staying at their family’s hotel – embarking on a 24-hour adventure around Port Paradise involving a butcher, Rastafarian drum-makers, a pawn shop and even a witch doctor. Funded by a Kickstarter campaign, director Samir Oliveros’ first film is packed with the unique sights and sounds of Colombian Caribbean.

Saturday 19th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Grace & Splendour

Donaire Y Esplendor

Panama | 96 mins | 2017 | Dir: Arturo Montenegro

This joyously irreverent romantic-comedy tells the Romeo and Juliet-like story of a young couple who fall hopelessly in love after an unexpected encounter at the airport. But they soon discover that their respective families have been embroiled in a bitter rivalry for years – ever since their mothers competed against each other at Panama’s famed Carnaval celebrations decades ago. And now the collective madness of Carnaval is coming around again...

Tuesday 22nd October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Glyn Davis (MSD) B121

Broken Panties

Calzones Rotos

Chile | 101 mins | 2017 | Dir: Arnaldo Valsecchi

In 1950, the imminent death of matriarch Matilde forces her entire family – including her four adult daughters – to reunite at their hacienda in rural Chile. On her deathbed, Matilde confesses to the village priest that she killed her husband 40 years ago and buried him in the garage. The revelation shocks everyone in attendance and kicks off a chain of events that unearths even more long-buried secrets (and bodies) in this dark comedy

Sunday 27th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Mara’akame’s Dream

El Sueño Del Mara’akame

Mexico | 90 mins | 2016 | Dir: Federico Cecchetti

Nieri is a young Huichol Indian caught between his traditional culture and his youthful ambitions. He dreams of running away with his rock band to make it big in Mexico City, but his father – a Huichol shaman, or Mara’akame – wishes to train him in the art of spiritual healing. A striking tale of the role of ancient tradition in modern life, this film paints an evocative portrait of Mexico and offers a rare glimpse into the magical world of the Huichol.

Sunday 20th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Quijotes Negros 

Ecuador | 80 mins | 2016 | Dir: Sandino Burbano

Fantasy and reality collide in this unique take on the legend of Don Quixote that explores ethnic and social marginalisation in Latin America through the lens of comedy. In modern-day Ecuador, Don Quixote sets out to help his loyal companion Sancho Panza find a wife. Their misadventures lead them to inadvertently kidnapping the Queen and Princess of Spain, resulting in an unlikely meeting between citizens of two very different worlds.

Thursday 24th October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 556

Old Friends

Viejos Amigos

Peru | 93 mins | 2014 | Dir: Fernando Villarán

Balo, Ricardo, Domingo and Kike have been friends since the day they were born – eight decades ago in Peru’s El Callao neighbourhood. They have been waiting for as long as they can remember for their favourite soccer team to play in the league finals, but fate delivers a cruel blow when Kike dies on the eve of the match. Reuniting at his funeral, the remaining three friends decide to steal Kike’s ashes and take them to the match for one final hurrah.

Saturday 26th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Fallen Gods

Los Dioses Rotos

Cuba | 93 mins | 2008 | Dir: Ernesto Daranas

Laura is a university professor researching the legendary Cuban pimp, Yarini y Alberto Ponce de Leon, whose murder at the hands of French rivals in Havana in the early 1900s made him a folk hero. Delving into the city’s underworld, Laura finds striking parallels between the Havana of today and the past. As her investigation deepens, she finds herself caught in the middle of a turf war between modern-day Havana pimps.

Friday 25th October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

The Pope’s Toilet

El Baño Del Papa

Uruguay | 98 mins | 2007 | Dir: César Charlone

It’s 1988 and the Uruguayan border town of Melo is excitedly awaiting the visit of Pope John Paul II on his tour of South America. Word begins to spread that thousands could be making the pilgrimage to see the holy leader, and the poverty-stricken citizens of Melo prepare for an unprecedented tourism boom. But petty smuggler Beto believes he has hatched the best plan of them all: to build a public toilet and then charge the pilgrims to use it.

Saturday 26th October 14:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Where All Roads End

Donde Acaban Los Caminos

Guatemala | 85 mins | 2004 | Dir: Carlos Garcia Agraz

In the early 20th century, idealistic doctor Zamora arrives in a rural Guatemalan village with the hope of eradicating illness among the local Tz’utujil people. Zamora unexpectedly finds himself falling in love with a young native girl named Maria – but can their relationship transcend vast cultural differences and the threatening shadow of conflict with Guatemala’s government?

Sunday 20th October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Arts West 353

Man Facing Southeast

Hombre Mirando al Sudeste

Argentina | 105 mins | 1986 | Dir: Eliseo Subiela

Dr Julio Denis is baffled by the unexplained arrival of a mysterious new patient at the Argentinian psychiatric hospital where he works. The newcomer tells Julio that he is an extra-terrestrial, sent to Earth to observe the behaviour of humans firsthand. Urged by hospital administrators to treat him like any other patient, Julio soon begins to wonder against his better judgement whether his new patient could indeed be from another planet.

Wednesday 23rd October 18:00 @Melbourne University, Glyn Davis (MSD) B121

Reservations

No upcoming events at the moment
 

©2019 by Melbourne University School of Languages and Linguistics, The Faculty of Arts.